The First Congregational Church Of Ossipee has a rich heritage, having been founded in 1806 by a group of pioneers who wanted to see a place for God’s people to worship, and the gospel of Jesus Christ spread throughout the area. The Traditional Church was built in 1827. This was after 20 years of people meeting in various homes in the Ossipee community. In 1846 the “Parish Hall” was built as the town’s one room schoolhouse. In the 1870’s, the railroad came to Ossipee, and the economy turned from farming to manufacturing. Wealthy industrialists became members of the church.
The church remained largely unchanged for the next 100 years. Over the last 15 years, we have seen both the town and the church go through considerable changes. As more and more families came to FCCO, we began expanding our facilities and developing this beautiful property that our forefathers wisely set aside for the future development of their church.
In the early 90’s, the church began remodeling and expanding the church parsonage into usable space for staff and administrative offices and classroom meeting spaces. In 1996, renovations to the traditional church were completed and a new Family Life Center was built which could accommodate our growing church family. In 2005 we expanded the facility again to include a children’s wing, and adult’s wing, the new atrium, as well as upgrades to our main auditorium, including renovation to the stage and media technology.
Throughout our history, we have remained a congregational governed church. We are a Vision New England and Willow Creek member church and actively work with other churches and organizations.